Canada’s Edwards, Ejim finalists for NCAA power forward of year

Canadians Aaliyah Edwards and Yvonne Ejim are two of five finalists for the Katrina McClain Award, presented to the NCAA women’s basketball power forward of the year, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Edwards, from Kingston, Ont., is averaging 17.9 points on 59.4-per-cent shooting to go along with 9.5 rebounds for ninth-ranked UConn.

Ejim, from Calgary, is averaging 20 points on 62.8-per-cent shooting to go along with 8.3 rebounds for 15th-ranked Gonzaga.

Angel Reese of LSU, Kiki Iriafen of Stanford and Alissa Pili of Utah are the other finalists.

All five players are likely to qualify for March Madness. The selection show is March 17.

#Canadas #Edwards #Ejim #finalists #NCAA #power #year

Leave a Reply